INEC Rejigs Standing Committees

In a bid to put its house in order for efficient and effective performance, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has overhauled  its Standing Committees with National Commissioners of the commission assuming more active roles than before.
In its daily bulletin issued at the weekend in Abuja, the Commission said the National Commissioners would head committees in addition to supervisory roles of more than three states in each of the six geo-political zones.
The committees are Appointments, Promotions and Disciplinary Committee (APDC) to be headed by Alhaji Baba Arfo (North-East), Survey and Technical Equipment Acquisition Committee, chaired by Mohammed Haruna (North-Central).
Electoral Operations and Logistics Committee (EOLC) has Mrs Amina Zakari (North-West) as Chairman, Board of Electoral Institute (BEI), with Prof. Okechukwu Ibeanu (South-East) as Chairman.
Prof. Anthonia Okoosi-Simbine (North Central) will head Election Observation and Party Monitoring Committee (EPMC), Dr Adekunle Ogunmola (South-West), Outreach and Partnerships Committee (OPC) and Mr Abubakar Nahuche (North-West), Works and Transport Committee (EWTC).
Legal Services, Clearance and Complaints Committee (LSCCC) has Mrs May Agbamuche-Mbu (South-South) as Chairman, Air Vice-Marshal (rtd) Ahmed Mu’azu (North-East), Tenders Board (TB) and Mr Adedeji Soyebi (South-West), Information and Voter Education Committee (IVEC).
Others are Planning, Monitoring and Strategy Committee (PMSC) to be headed by Prof. Okechukwu Ibeanu (South-East) and Health and Welfare Committee (HWC), with Dr Muhammed Lecky (South-South) as Chairman.
The bulletin also stated that INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, would chair three committees – Finance and General Purpose Committee (FGPC), Information Technology and Voter Registry Committee (ITVRC) and Security Committee (SC).
On the states of supervision by the National Commissioners, the INEC disclosed that Prof. Anthonia Okoosi-Simbine would oversee Kaduna, Niger, Plateau and Federal Capital Territory (FCT) while Alhaji Baba Arfo would supervise Yobe, Gombe and Bauchi.
while Amina Zakari takes charge of Zamfara, Sokoto and Kebbi.

Mr Adedeji Soyebi will supervise Ekiti and Osun while Dr Muhammed Lecky will be in charge of Cross River, Akwa-Ibom and Delta.
Mr Abubakar Nahuche will supervise Katsina, Jigawa and Kano; Mohammed Haruna for Kwara, Kogi and Nasarawa while AVM Ahmed Mu’azu supervises Adamawa, Taraba and Borno.’’
It added that Prof. Okechukwu Ibeanu would surpervise Imo, Abia and Ebonyi; Dr Adekunle Ogunmola, Lagos, Ogun and Ondo and Mrs May Agbamuche-Mbu, Edo, Rivers and Bayelsa.
According to a report by the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) the Commission’s the bulletin was silent on a supervisor for Benue, Enugu and Anambra states.


Comments are closed.