COVID-19: UK Bans Travelers from Nigeria, 187 Others

By Ayo Kehinde

As part of continuous measures to contain the spread of Cororna Virus amid fresh calls for a lockdown, the United Kingdom has placed a travel restriction on travelers from Nigeria and 187 other countries.

The European country listed Nigeria alongside 188 countries on what it called the amber list on its website. Aside from the countries on the amber list other countries were categorised under green or red list.

According to the information on its website, “travelers listed on the green list are allowed into the country, the ones listed on the red list are totally banned from traveling into the country and the ones on amber list have been placed under restrictions and must follow the rules listed.

It said; “You should not travel to amber list countries or territories for leisure purposes.If you have also been in or through a country or territory on the amber list in the 10 days before you arrive in England, and have not visited a country on the red list, you must follow the amber list rules.

“On arrival in England, travelers from Nigeria and other countries on the amber list, must quarantine at home for 10 days and take a COVID-19 test on or before day 2 and on or after day 8 of their arrival”, Uk said

According to the UK, one of the rules for those travelling from any country on the amber list is that they must complete a passenger location form on arrival in the country, book and pay for day 2 and day 8 COVID-19 travel tests.