Buhari Appoints New Service Chiefs


By Ayo Kehinde



President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

According to SPecial Media Adviser, Femi Adesina in a statement on Tiesday, President Buhari thanked the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he called their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The President congratulated the new Service Chiefs, and urged them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.

 Below is the profile of each member of the new team

Chief of Defence Staff

Major General Leo Irabor, with Army number 8370, was born on October 5, 1965.

He is from Ika South of Delta State and he is a member of regular course 34 of the Nigerian Defence Academy.

He was once the Theatre Commander of the Operation Lafiya Dole and later took over as the Commander, Training and Doctrine Command (TRADOC) before he was on Tuesday named the Chief of Defence Staff.



Chief of Air Staff


Air Vice-Marshal Isiaka Oladayo Amao, is currently the Air Officer Commanding Tactical Air Command. He was born on 14 September 1965 in Enugu.

He hails from Oshogbo Local Government Area of Osun State.

He enlisted into the Nigerian Air Force on 19 January 1984 as a member of 35 Regular Course of the Nigerian Defence Academy and was commissioned as Pilot Officer on 20 December 86.

He started his Primary Flying Training at 301 Flying Training School (FTS) Kaduna from 1987–1989, did the Basic Flying Training at 303 FTS Kano from 1990 – 92 and Tactical Fighter Training at 99 Air Combat Training Group (99 ACTG) Kainji from 1993 – 99.

Thereafter, he went for Instructor Pilot Course at 301 FTS Kaduna from 2004 – 2005.

The senior officer has attended several military courses which include: Junior Division Course at Armed Forces Command Staff College (AFCSC) Jaji from June to December 1986, Senior Division Course at Defence Services Staff College India from 2002–2003, Defence Course at National Defence University China from 2012 to 2013, Aircraft Accident Investigation in Civil Airline at NCAT Zaria and Aircraft Accident Investigation Course at Karachi, Pakistan.

Chief of Naval Staff


Rear Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo was born on 22 Apr 66 and hails from Nasarawa LGA in Kano State.

He enlisted into the Nigerian Navy on 24 Sep 84 as a member of Regular Course 36 and was commissioned Sub-Lieutenant on 24 Sep 88.

He is an Underwater Warfare specialist with a sub-specialisation in Intelligence. The senior officer has attended several military courses which include, Sub-Technical course and Officers Long course both at NNS QUORRA.

He also attended Junior Division 48/89 and Senior Course 26 both at AFCSC Jaji.

Other courses attended include the National Defence Course at the South African National Defence College.

Until his recent appointment as the CNS, he was the Director of Procurement at the Defence Space Administration.

Chief of Army Staff


Major General Ibrahim Attahiru, with Army Number 8406, was born on August 10, 1966. He is from Kaduna North Local Government Area of Kaduna State and a member of the Regular Course 35 of the Nigerian Defence Academy.

Before his appointment as the Chief of Army Staff, he was the General Officer Commanding 82 Division of the Nigerian Army, Enugu.

He was also a former Theatre Commander of the Operation Lafiya Dole. He took over from Major General Leo Irabor.