The National Judicial Council Recommends Compulsory Retirement of Two Judges.



By John Okoh



The National Judicial Council (NJC) has recommended the immediate compulsory retirement of two judges for acts of misconduct. They are

Aliyu Musa Liman of the Bauchi Stae High Court and Chukwuma Francis Abosi, Acting President of the Customary Court of Appeal, Imo state.

The NJC, in a statement, said Liman e withheld judgment in a case, marked: BA/100/210 between Abubakar Isa and Sheik Tahir Usman Bauchi, for almost four years, as against the three months period provided by the Constitution while Abosi was said to have altered his date of birth from 1950 to 1958 to beat his actual retirement year of 2015 when he originally attained the mandatory retirement age of 65 years.

So also did the council constitute a 10-man committee to put in place modalities for the courts to resume sitting amid the COVID-19 pandemic in the country.

The Council, under the Chairmanship of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, I. T. Muhammad, constituted a 10-man Committee to look into the possibility of resumption of sitting amidst the Covid-19 pandemic in Nigeria and also appointed 70 judicial officers.

These were the major highlights of the 91st Meeting of the Council held online on April 22 and 23, 2020.

The Committee sis headed by Justice Olabode Rhodes-Vivour an Chairman, while other members are Justice M. B. Dongban-Mensem; Justice J. T. Tsoho; Justice B. B. Kanyip; Justice Ishaq Bello; Justice Kashim Zannah; Justice O. A. Ojo; Paul Usoro (SAN); A. B. Mahmoud (SAN); and D. D. Dodo (SAN).

The Committee has 14 days to submit its Report.

Petitions against the following Judicial Officers: Hon. Justice O. A. Musa of the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory, Hon. Justices Muhammed A. Sambo and Sa’ad Ibrahim Zadawa of the High Court of Justice, Bauchi State were dismissed for either lacking in merit or being subjudice.

Council also decided to report Apeiyi Becon Clement, Ifeanyi Egwasi, Nwafor Orizu, Godwin Nkemjika Chukwukwere, Akopde Haggai Ukuku, Chief Emefo Etudo, Osamudiamen Obarogie and B. S. Onuegbu to the Legal Practitioners Disciplinary Committee for various acts unbecoming of a Legal Practitioner ranging from unruly behaviour, walking out of court in the cause of proceedings, to submission of false documents to Court.