S/Court: Uzodinma Remains Imo Gov


By Ayo Kehinde

Ihedioha and Uzodinma


Except for the dissenting voice of Justice Centus Nweze, who set aside the January 14 judgment of the Supreme Court as a nullity, the other six presiding Justices of the apex court affirmed the judgment that removed Honourable Emeka Ihedioha as Governor of Imo State and replaced him with Senator Hope Uzodinma.

The five Justices are the Chief Justice of Nigeria ,CJN, Justice Ibrahim Muhammad, Justices Sylvester Ngwuta, Kudirat Kekere-Ekun, Amina Augie and Mary Abba-Aji.

While Justice Nweze held that the court was misled in declaring Hope Uzodinma as governor and subsequently ordered his removal from office, insisting that the votes, which was used to declare Uzodinma winner was in excess of the accredited votes for the election, the others held that the Supreme Court lacked powers to sit on appeal in its own judgment.

They considered the application by Ihedioha asking the court to set aside its judgment of January 14 on grounds of nullity was an invitation on the apex court to sit on appeal over its own judgment, which the court cannot do.

In the lead judgment delivered by Justice Kayode Ariwoola, the court held that granting the request of the applicants would open the flood gate by parties to all kinds of litigations.

The court however held that parties in this case should bear their cost.