APC Crisis: Oyegun Reverses Self, Swears-In, Abia, Lagos, Rivers, Taraba Chairmen

By Nnaya Eziyi, Umuahia


Except for Osun and Ekiti states where state congresses are yet to be held, some of the candidates who emerged as chairman  amidst controversy at the recently concluded state congresses of the All Progressives congress, APC, have been sworn-in by initially hesitant Chairman, John Oyegun.

His decision which ran contrary to an earlier announcement by National Publicity Secretary of the party, Mallam  Bolaji Abdullahi that states such as Lagos and Rivers would not have any chairman inaugurated until a committtee looks into the crisis in the affected states.

The states are Lagos where a faction, said to be loyal to Power, Works and Housing  Minister, Babatunde Raji Fashola and National Legal Adviser of the party, Muiz Banire, both of whom have denied any such link, emerged  with Foud Oki as Chairman and Rivers where against a court order, factions loyal to Transportation Minister, Rotimi Amaech picked a candidate, controversial Ojukaye Amachree, leaving the faction led by Senator Magnus Abe in the cold.Hardest hit is Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo,  Chairman of APC Governors Forum, who was defeated by Imo stakeholders’s candidate, Dr Hilary Eke.

Lagos factional chairman, Oki has called on President Buhari to intervene and save the perceived ‘impunity’ staged by Oyegun.

 In Abia, the factional Publicity Secretary of the All Progressive Congress (APC) in Abia State, Engr Mike Ozoemena has rejected the inauguration of Chief Donatus Nwankpa as the state chairman of the party.

In a press statement issued and signed by the publicity secretary, which was obtained by our correspondent in Umuahia the state capital, he called it a blunder and an illegally.

Nwankpa was sworn in by the out-going National Chairman of the party, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun along with 34 others at its national headquarters, Abuja, the federal capital.

He said the inauguration contravened an order of an Abia High Court removing Nwankpa from office as chairman of the former executive committee of the party.

“APC is a law abiding party and will not tolerate such illegalities as being perpetuated by His Excellency, Odigie-Oyegun the outgoing national chairman of our great party” he maintained.

According to him, the court, sitting in Okpualangwa, in Isiala Ngwa North Local Goverment Area had also restrained Odigie-Oygun from dealing with Nwakpa in his former capacity.

He explained that the court had equally vested the chairmanship of the party on Dr. Emmanuel Ndukwe, who was until then its secretary.

Ozoemena, who insisted that it was Ndukwe that emerged as the chairman at the state congress, added that Odigie-Oyegun’s action depicts incompetence and insincerity.

His words, “We therefore use this medium to inform our members that Ndukwe remains the authentic chairman of our party in Abia state.”

The publicity secretary appealed to them not to be discouraged but to remain law abiding even in the face of provocation “as necessary action will be taken legally to correct this anomaly.”

Minister of Women Affairs, Senator Alhassan, Mama Taraba, also had her factional candidate, Alhaji Abdulumini Vaki sworn-in. Minister of Communication however failed in his bid to have his way against governor Abiola Ajimobi, whose candidate, Chief Akin Oke, was sworn-in.

List of newly-sworn in All Progressives Congress (APC) State Chairmen

1.      Abia                            – Hon. Donatus E. Nwankpa

2.      Adamawa                    – Alh. Ibrahim Bilal

3.      Akwa Ibom                 – Hon. Ini Okopido

4.      Anambra                     – Barr. Emeka Ibe

5.      Bauchi                         – Alh Uba Ahmed Nana

6.      Bayelsa                        – Jonathan L. Amos

7.      Benue                          – Comrade Abba Yari

8.      Borno                          – Hon. Ali Bukar Dalori

9.      Cross River                 – Hon. Godwin Etim John

10.  Delta                           – Chief Cyril Abeye Ogodo

11.  Ebonyi                         – Pastor Eze Nwachukwu Eze

12.  Edo                             – Anslem U. Ojezua

13.  Ekiti                            – No Congress

14.  Enugu                          – Dr. Ben Nwoye

15.  Gombe                        – Nitte K. Amangal

16.  Imo                              – Dr. Hillary Eke

17.  Jigawa                         – Hon. Ado Sani Kiri

18.  Kaduna                       – Air Commodore Emmanuel Jekeda (Rtd.)

19.  Kano                           – Abdullahi Abass

20.  Katsina                        – Shittu S. Shittu

21.  Kebbi                          – Arc. Bala Sani Kangiwa

22.  Kogi                            – Abdullahi Bello

23.  Kwara                         – Hon. Ishola Balogun Fulani

24.  Lagos                          – Alh. Tunde Balogun

25.  Nasarawa                    – Philip Tatari Shekwo

26.  Niger                           – Engr. Muhammed Liman

27.  Ogun                           – Chief Dikia Adebisi

28.  Ondo                           – Engr. Ade Adetimehin

29.  Osun                            – No Congress

30.  Oyo                             – Chief Akin Oke

31.  Plateau                        – Hon. Letep M. Dabang

32.  Rivers                          – Ojukaye Amachree

33.  Sokoto                         – Hon. Isa S. Achida

34.  Taraba                         – Alh. Abdulmumini Vaki

35.  Yobe                           – Alh. Adamu Chilariye

36.  Zamfara                       – Alh. Lawal M. Liman

37.  FCT                             – Hon. Abdulmalik Usman