Modric Named Best Male Player, Marta Best Female Player at Fifa Awards

Modric receiving the award

Luka Modric was crowned as the best men’s player of the year at the awards ceremony at the Royal Festival Hall in London

The Real Madrid midfielder, 33, beat former team-mate Cristiano Ronaldo, now with Juventus, and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah to the award.

Modric won his third Champions League title in a row in May and guided Croatia to their first World Cup final in July.

Brazil and Orlando Pride forward Marta won the best female player award.

France’s Didier Deschamps – whose side beat Modric’s Croatia 4-2 in the World Cup final – was named best men’s coach.

Salah received the Puskas award for the best goal, for his effort against Everton in the Premier League at Anfield last December.

Peru’s supporters won the Fifa Fan Award after many thousands of them flew to Russia in support of their nation – playing at the finals for the first time since 1982.

Best Fifa men’s player – Luka Modric

Luka Modric ended Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi’s dominance of the best individual accolades in world football, which had stretched back to 2007, when Kaka won the Ballon d’Or.

Modric made 56 appearances for club and country as he won the Champions League and reached the World Cup final – beating England in the semi-final – in what he admitted before the ceremony was his “best season ever”.

Incidentally, England manager Southgate voted for Modric.

The former Tottenham midfielder won the Golden Ball award for the best player in the World Cup after their final defeat by France.

He scored in Croatia’s opening two matches of the group stages and also set up one goal.

Croatia manager Zlatko Dalic paid tribute to his talisman after the result was announced, saying the midfielder is like “my assistant in the field”.

“Luka Modric is the captain of my team, he’s the best player in my team and in the world, and he deserves this award,” said Dalic.

After receiving the award, Modric said he was “honoured” and thankful to all the coaches he has worked with for getting him to this stage.

“This award is not just mine. It is my team-mates from Real Madrid and Croatia. Without my coaches, I would not have won this and without my family I would not be the player I am today,” said Modric.

Luka Modric was awarded the Fifa Golden Ball after the World Cup final for the best player at the tournament


Men’s player – top three

1st: Luka Modric – 29.05% 2nd: Cristiano Ronaldo – 19.08% 3rd: Mohamed Salah – 11.23%


Best Fifa women’s player – Marta

Brazil and Orlando Pride forward Marta won the award for the best female player for the sixth time.

Her first recognition from Fifa for being the best female player in the world came in 2006.

She led Brazil to the Copa America Femenina title in April, as they won all seven matches – although she only scored one of their 31 goals.

Marta scored 13 goals and set up six more as Orlando Pride reached the NWSL play-off semi-finals in the United States – earning herself a place in the league’s team of the year.

“This means so much, but it is not only about Marta, it is about my team-mates and women’s football,” said the 32-year-old.

“Most importantly, it is good to see women’s soccer grow each year. If I keep doing well and that can help off the field too, then I am happy.”

Marta was named best women’s player in the world for the sixth time

Women’s player – top three
1st: Marta – 14.73% 2nd: Dzsenifer Marozsan – 12.86% 3rd: Ada Hegerberg – 12.60%

Best men’s coach – Didier Deschamps

France’s Didier Deschamps won the award for the best men’s coach in 2018.

The former Marseille, Juventus and Chelsea midfielder captained his country as they won the World Cup in 1998, before guiding them to victory again in Russia in July.

Deschamps won the trophy ahead of former club and international team-mate Zinedine Zidane – who won his third successive Champions League title before resigning as Real Madrid manager – and Croatia manager Zlatko Dalic, whose side lost to France in a thrilling final in Moscow.

“I would like to thank Zinedine Zidane and Zlatko Dalic. They are both winners,” said the French manager.

“We are nothing without our players. I would like to thank the whole team. They worked hard to get me here tonight.”

Didier Deschamps was presented with the award by former Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger

Men’s coach – top three
1st: Didier Deschamps – 30.52% 2nd: Zinedine Zidane – 25.74% 3rd: Zlatko Dalic – 11.81%

Puskas award for best goal – Mohamed Salah

The Fifa Puskas award, named after the iconic former Hungary forward Ferenc Puskas, is given to the player who scored the best goal of 10 nominations.

Mohamed Salah’s stunning effort to open the scoring for Liverpool in his first Merseyside derby was the winner.

The Egyptian’s sublime curling finish towards the end of the first half at snowy Anfield, in December 2017, was later cancelled out by a Wayne Rooney penalty in a 1-1 draw. BBC Reports