Enugu Committed To LGA Autonomy, Says Gov. Ugwuanyi At Inauguration of Elected Chairmen


Governor, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (right) swearing in the newly elected Chairmen of the 17 Local Government Areas (left), at the Michael Okpara Square, Enugu, Monday. 



Upbeat about the landslide victory of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in Sunday’s local government polls in Enugu state, Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi on Monday, pledged commitment to operation of autonomy at the third tier of governance in his state.

Speaking during the inauguration of the elected Chairmen of the 17 local government areas and their deputies in Enugu, the state capital, he urged the victors to justify their election by working transparently and with accountability for the well-being of the people.

The Enugu State Independent Electoral Commission (ENSIEC), on Sunday, declared candidates of the PDP winners of Chairmanship and Councillorship seats contested in all the 17 Local Government Areas and 260 electoral wards in the state, and issued Certificates of Return to them.

He said, “There shall be no interferences whatsoever in the running of the Councils.

“Instead we will continue to synergize with the Councils to better the lots of the rural areas where the overwhelming populations of our people live”.

“You must lead with utmost sense of transparency, accountability, probity, and humaneness. In very difficult economic times like this, your government must wear a human face and work to lift our people out of poverty”.

“You must work diligently to execute the constitutional responsibilities of the third tier of government to help us to catalyze rural development and economy”.

According to him, “We want to see competitive development in the construction and maintenance of feeder roads, health facilities, primary educational facilities, portable water, rural electrification, and investment in agriculture, among others”.

He commended the political stakeholders for their peaceful and good conduct.

The occasion was attended by dignitaries and party leaders, including Senator Ike Ekweremadu and other members of the National Assembly from the state, Speaker of the State Assembly, Rt. Hon. Edward Ubosi and his colleagues, State Chairman of PDP, Hon. Augustine Nnamani and members of his executives. Others included Archbishop Emmanuel Chukwuma, Senator Fidelis Okoro, Senator Hyde Onuaguluchi, Senator Gilbert Nnaji, Chief Gbazuagu Nweke Gbazuagu, former National Woman Leader of PDP, Chief Mrs. Josephine Anenih, former State Chairmen of PDP, Dr. Charles Egumgbe, Engr. Vita Abba, Chief Ikeje Asogwa and traditional rulers.