Enelamah Elected WTO Vice Chairperson

Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment, Dr. Okechukwu Enelamah, has been elected the Vice-Chairperson representing Africa, for the 11th World Trade Organization (WTO) Ministerial Conference

According to a statement by Constance C. Ikokwu, Strategy and Communications Adviser to the Minister, Nigeria’s election, which was decided at the meeting of the WTO General Council on July 26 is viewed as an important recognition of Nigeria’s leadership role at the WTO and contributions on trade policies

The Ministerial Conference, which meets every two years, is the topmost decision-making body of the WTO.

It brings together members of the organization, all of which are countries or customs unions and can take decisions on matters under any of the multilateral trade agreements.

Other members of the Bureau of the 11th Ministerial Conference are: Chairperson: Minister Susanna Malcorra of Argentina; Vice Chairperson: H.E. Todd McClay, Honourable Minister of Trade of New Zealand; Vice Chairperson: Mr. Edward Yau, Secretary of Commerce and Economic Development, Hong Kong, China.

The Conference will take place on 10-13 December 10 t0 13, in Buenos Aires, Argentina.