COVID-19 Nigeria Imposes Travel Ban on 13 Worst Case Countries, Announces 5 More Cases



By Ayo Kehinde


Nigeria has recorded five new coronavirus cases, according to Minister of Health, Dr Osagie Ehanire at a news briefing in Abuja on Wednesday.

The new five cases had travel histories to the UK and US, said Ehanire.

Meanwhile the Chairman of the Presidential Task Force on Covid-19 and Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr Boss Mustapha has announced a travel ban by the government on 13 countries where the deadly virus has taken a heavy toll, with effect from March 21.

The countries are China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, Norway Netherlands, Switzerland. and the United Kingdom

According to Mustapha in a statement, the travel ban comes after a similar one on Tuesday was imposed on public servants going to certain countries.

He said: “You will recall that yesterday Tuesday 17‘h March, 2020 the Presidential Task Force on COVlD-19 set up by Mr. President was inaugurated and held its first briefing.

“You will also recall that the PTF at the end of the meeting announced the ban on all forms of travels by public officers and civil servants until further notice,

“This morning, we have found it necessary to brief Nigerians on further measures being taken after an assessment of the global situation. They are as follows:

“The Federal Government of Nigeria is restricting entry into the country for travellers from the following thirteen (13) countries; China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, Norway, the United States of America, the United Kingdom, Netherlands and Switzerland. These are all countries with over 1,000 case domestically;

“All persons arriving in Nigeria who might have visited these countries, often days prior to such arrival, will be subjected to supervised self-isolation and testing for 14 days;

“The Federal Government is temporarily suspending the issuance of all visas on arrival;

“The Federal Government is also counselling all Nigerians to cancel or postpone all non-essential travels to these countries; and

“The Federal Government urges Public Health Authorities of countries with high burden to conduct diligent departure screening of passengers and also endorses this travel advisories to their nationals to postpone travels to Nigeria.

“These restrictions will come into effect from Saturday, 21st March, 2020 for four (4) weeks subject to review.”