APC Primaries:Ogun Adopts Consensus Candidature As NEC States Conditions

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has intervened on the consensus candidates for elective positions threatening the unity of the party in some states.

According to the party in a statement by Yekini Nabena, acting National Publicity Secretary, “While consensus is provided for by the Party’s Constitution, the option is conditional.

“Consensus does not foreclose Direct or Indirect Primaries for all elective positions as contained in the resolution of the 6thmeeting of the Party’s National Executive Committee (NEC).

“Again, consensus will apply when no other aspirant signify interest (i.e. through purchase of nomination forms) for the position in question.”

Edo and Ogun states chapter of the party are championing the consensus ticket.

In fact Ogun on Monday went ahead use it to adopt its consensus candidates for the 2019 state House of Assembly election.

The exercise which was conducted on Monday at the Presidential Lodge in Abeokuta, the state capital saw the adoption of 23 candidates for the 26 seats as aspirants from the various constituencies met separately to pick who they considered most suitable among them.

The constituencies for which candidates were adopted include Sagamu Constituency 1 (Kamar Sonowo) ; Sagamu constituency 2 (Ademola Adeyinka,) ;Ijebu North 1: (Adekanbi Adegoke) ; Ijebu North 2: (Oduniyi Adelaja) ; Ijebu East (Alhaji Akinlagun Agoro ) ; Ogun Waterside: (Foye Adeniyi) ; Ewekoro: ( Yusuf Amosun) ; Abeokuta North (Modupe Mujota) ; Yewa North 1: (Bayo Adeyemi); Yewa North 2 (Olowasogo Akinde) ; Ijebu North East: Deola Tayo); Ipokia-(Sikirat Ajibola)

Governor Ibikunle Amosun, who supervised the exercise  thanked members for respecting it, adding that candidates for the three remaining seats as well as those of the National Assembly seats, will be adopted on Tuesday.